Written by a parent, not a doctor. Nothing here is medical advice.

Ohio Lions Pediatric Cancer Foundation

Gas Card Family Support Program · About this organization

What you get

A $75 gas card per award for travel connected with your child’s active cancer treatment.

How to start

You ask the program for the current submission method because the form does not publish one.

Good to know

  • The household must attest that it is at or below 200% of the federal poverty level.
  • The program is limited to up to two $75 gas cards per month for up to six months based on need.

The details, as published

B-ALL is in scope Not Published

The Ohio Lions Pediatric Cancer Foundation provides $75 gas cards to Ohio families whose child age 0–18 is in active treatment for any form of pediatric cancer. Under the published rules, a family may receive up to two cards per month for up to six months, based on need, and must attest that household income is at or below 200% of the federal poverty level. The current form includes a sponsoring Lions club, district, and district representative and asks about assistance received from the program during the prior year. Download the official form and coordinate submission with an Ohio Lions club or district representative; the public form lists olpcf@ohiolions.org for questions.

What help you may get

Household Bills And Cash Assistance

Gas Card Family Support Program — household bills and cash assistance

The Ohio Lions Pediatric Cancer Foundation provides $75 gas cards to Ohio families whose child age 0–18 is in active treatment for any form of pediatric cancer. Under the published rules, a family may receive up to two cards per month for up to six months, based on need, and must attest that household income is at or below 200% of the federal poverty level. The current form includes a sponsoring Lions club, district, and district representative and asks about assistance received from the program during the prior year. Download the official form and coordinate submission with an Ohio Lions club or district representative; the public form lists olpcf@ohiolions.org for questions.

$75

Can cover

  • $75 gas cards for transportation connected with a child's active pediatric cancer treatment

Does not cover

  • Expenses other than transportation fuel
  • Each gas card is $75. Up to two cards may be provided per month for up to six months, for a maximum of 12 cards or $900 during that assistance period if the maximum is approved.
  • The program provides up to two $75 gas cards per month for up to six months based on need. The public material does not state whether or when a family may start a later six-month assistance period.

Travel And Transportation

Gas Card Family Support Program — travel and transportation

The Ohio Lions Pediatric Cancer Foundation provides $75 gas cards to Ohio families whose child age 0–18 is in active treatment for any form of pediatric cancer. Under the published rules, a family may receive up to two cards per month for up to six months, based on need, and must attest that household income is at or below 200% of the federal poverty level. The current form includes a sponsoring Lions club, district, and district representative and asks about assistance received from the program during the prior year. Download the official form and coordinate submission with an Ohio Lions club or district representative; the public form lists olpcf@ohiolions.org for questions.

$75

Can cover

  • $75 gas cards for transportation connected with a child's active pediatric cancer treatment

Does not cover

  • Expenses other than transportation fuel
  • Each gas card is $75. Up to two cards may be provided per month for up to six months, for a maximum of 12 cards or $900 during that assistance period if the maximum is approved.
  • The program provides up to two $75 gas cards per month for up to six months based on need. The public material does not state whether or when a family may start a later six-month assistance period.
Shared limits:
  • The published monetary limit is shared across the listed benefit components.

Check the main eligibility rules

Diagnosis

B-ALL is in scope. The official current program material accepts children in active treatment for any form of pediatric cancer from birth through age 18, so pediatric B-cell acute lymphoblastic leukemia qualifies.

Age

Age 0 to age 18, measured at treatment period.

  • The foundation defines child as birth up to 18 years old for the Gas Card Program.

Treatment status

Active Treatment

Financial need is required.

  • The application asks whether the family is at or below 200% of the federal poverty level for its household and links to the federal poverty guidelines.
  • The form is a yes/no attestation and does not state what income documents, if any, must be supplied.
  • Assistance is based on need.
  • The application asks about prior Gas Card Program assistance received during the past year and the date of the last assistance.

Where you live and where your child is treated

Where your family lives

You must live in: OH.

  • The foundation describes the program as serving families across Ohio and states in a 2026 official newsletter that a Pennsylvania family was outside its reach.

Where your child is treated

No treatment-location restriction is published.

How to get started

Does a social worker or care team need to start it? No. A required care-team start is not published; the family can use the available route below.

Who can start: Parent Or Guardian

  1. Ask olpcf@ohiolions.org for the current submission method because the form does not publish one.
  2. Ask olpcf@ohiolions.org or the district representative for the current submission method because the form does not publish one.
  3. Attest whether the household is at or below 200% of the federal poverty level.
  4. Contact an Ohio Lions club or district representative to arrange sponsorship and complete the club, district, representative, and representative-contact fields.
  5. Download the public Gas Card Family Support application.
  6. Enter the parent's name, mailing address, email address, and phone number.
  7. List any local groups with which the foundation might work in the future.
  8. Report whether the family received Gas Card Program assistance during the past year and the date of its last assistance.

Ways to apply or ask

Documents to prepare

  • Completed Gas Card Family Support application
  • Approved assistance is provided as $75 gas cards, up to two per month for up to six months based on need.

Availability and timing

ProgramActive
ApplicationsNot Published
Funding or spaceNot Published
Application windowRolling
Last checkedAug 24, 2026
  • The official foundation page links the application, and the August–September 2026 newsletter reports an approval during the new 2026–27 Lions year.
  • The public sources do not explicitly state that intake is open or publish a funding-availability rule.
  • The current official form and 2026 approval update do not state a deadline or seasonal window.
  • No lead-time rule is published.

Limitations and things to confirm

  • The application contains fields for a sponsoring Lions club and district representative, but does not state whether those fields are mandatory.
  • The application requires coordination with a sponsoring Lions club and district representative.
  • The child must be age 0–18 and in active treatment for pediatric cancer.
  • The household must attest that it is at or below 200% of the federal poverty level.
  • The program is limited to up to two $75 gas cards per month for up to six months based on need.
  • The public form does not state its submission method, review timing, income-documentation rule, or repeat-cycle rule.
  • Can a family receive another six-month assistance period after the first period, and how does prior help in the past year affect eligibility?
  • How does a family find a sponsoring Lions club or district representative?
  • How long does review take, and how are approved cards delivered?
  • Is funding currently sufficient for every otherwise eligible application?
  • Must the family reside in Ohio, must treatment occur in Ohio, or are both accepted routes?
  • What income proof or treatment verification, if any, must accompany the form?
  • Where and how should the completed application be submitted?

Official sources

Program details were last verified Aug 24, 2026. Availability can change, so check the official program before applying.

Official program